Edging to separate lawn from a rock bed?

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums DETAILS & MATERIALS Edging to separate lawn from a rock bed?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 23 total)
  • Author
    Jay Smith
    Participant

I have very little experience with lawn edging.  Can anyone recommend a good landscape edging to separate turf from a rock bed?  I need something inconspicuous. I thought about bend-a-board, steel or aluminum.  Any type of pavement/paver application would be out of the budget.  I’d really appreciate any ideas.

Jay Smith
    Participant

Bump.  Anyone bored on a Friday feel like a little edging discussion?

Andrew Spiering
    Participant

Hi Jay,

Great question.  The contractors that I have worked with prefer working with the steel edging.  It holds a nice, rigid line while remaining hidden. EverEdgeCol-Met, or Sure-Loc would do the trick.

If you go aluminum, then Permaloc is your go-to.  They have a specific product called CleanLine that I believe will fit your design objectives. 

I would recommend staying away from recycled plastic edging or bend-a-board products.  They do not hold a clean line very well, they are hard to hide, and they typically popup after a while.

Also, check out this related thread on Steel Edging.  

Jay Smith
    Participant

Thanks Andrew, that helps alot!  Is there any reason to think this couldn’t be done by a DIY homeowner?

Andrew Spiering
    Participant

I’d vote for Permaloc over steel edging for a DIY project.  I designed a friend’s garden and he installed it himself using Permaloc edging.  It is light weight and extremely easy to assemble and install.  

Steel edging is heavier and slightly more difficult to work with, but could also be installed by a DIYer.  Though, I’d go with Permaloc for easy-of-use.

Hope this helps!  

Daniel Martin
    Keymaster