LA’s searching for a JOB….a few suggestions.

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums STORY BOARD LA’s searching for a JOB….a few suggestions.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 39 total)
  • Author

THE JOB SEARCH:

Having practiced Landscape Architecture for….well, what sometimes seems like forever, but still, loving every minute of it; I remember first starting out in May of 1977 when I graduated from Texas A&M University.

Times change.  Our U.S. economy goes up and down like a yoyo.  I was fortunate, that for most of my LA career (and I’m still practicing), our economy has been pretty strong…though, I must admit, the past 7+ years have been challenging!

IDEAS/SUGGESTIONS:

1.  Get your LA degree.  B.S.L.A. or Masters in Landscape Architecture.  But, you first really need to be SURE that this career program is “right” for you.  It’s one thing to want to be a Landscape Architect and it’s another thing to have the “potential” to succeed at it.  I know this isn’t a popular statement to make, but, I am personally surprised that some LA students are actually awarded LA diplomas.  In fact, I recall an LA professor of mine, who told me, some of my classmates would never succeed as a Landscape Architect…which I thought was an odd thing to hear.  But, now, I understand what he was talking about.

2.  While going through that 4 or 5 year program, develop a “strong portfolio”.  Which should include strong “hand graphic skills”, “learn a wide variety of computer skills…autoCAD, etc.).  Though, I have to admit, I have never produced a single drawing by autoCAD…..as I took my first Architectural Drafting course at age 12 (7th grade)…so, my Contract Documents (by hand), served me well over the years.  But, times have changed, you must have great computer drawing skills. But, hand sketching & being able to produce hand drawn color renderings is also a plus.